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State Supplementation 

Mandatory Minimum Supplementation 

No recipients. 

Optional State Supplementation 

Administration: State Department of Social Services. 

Effective date: January 1, 1974. 

Statutory basis for payment: Connecticut General 
Statutes, section 17b-600. 

Funding 
Administration: State funds. 
Assistance: State funds. 

Passalong method: Maintaining payment levels. 

Place of application: Regional offices of state agency. 

Scope of coverage: Optional state supplement 
provided to all aged, blind, and disabled SSI or Title II 
recipients living alone or with others. No provision is 
made for essential persons. The only children eligible for 
supplementation are those who are blind. Blind and 
disabled recipients are reclassified as aged upon 
reaching age 65. 

Resource limitations: No limit on real property 
occupied as a home. Equity in real property other than a 
home must be liquidated. Value of personal property 
(excluding household and personal effects, car if needed, 
and tools and equipment or livestock essential to 
production of income) is limited to $1,600 for an 
individual and $2,400 for a couple. In addition, up to 
$1,800 for burial contract is reduced by the value of 
irrevocable burial arrangements and the face value of life 
insurance policies of $1,500 or less. 

Income exclusions 
Unearned income: 

 

For recipients residing in the 
community, state disregards $278.00 of any unearned 
income including SSI; for recipients residing in boarding 
homes, $185.70 is disregarded. The disregard is $345.90 
for recipients residing with unrelated persons in the 
community. 

 

Earned income: The first $65 and one-half of the 
remainder for aged and disabled; the first $85 and one-
half of the remainder for the blind. Work-related 
expenses for the blind, including personal expenses such 
as Social Security tax, life and health insurance, lunch, 
and transportation, are excluded. Additional deductions 
are allowed for the blind and disabled related to plans 
for self-support. Those who are disabled are also 
allowed deductions for impairment-related work 
expenses. 

Recoveries, liens, and assignments: Liens secure 
claims against real property. State has a preferred 
mandatory claim against an estate to the extent that it is 
not needed for the support of the surviving spouse, 
parent, or dependent children of the decedent. Liens may 
be released upon payment of claim or amount equal to 
beneficiary's interest. If applicant or recipient owns other 
nonhome property, he or she must be making a bona fide 
effort to sell it. During that time, he or she gives the state 
a security mortgage. 

Financial responsibility of relatives: Spouse for 
spouse. 

Interim assistance: State participates. 

Payment calculation method: A standard applies that 
is established by the state for the total SSI payment. The 
federal SSI payment and any countable income are 
deducted from the state standard. The remainder is the 
state supplementation. 

Payment levels: See Table 1. 

Number of recipients: See Table 2. 

Total expenditures1

 

: The state reported expenditures of 
$42,609,009 for calendar year 2010 in state-
administered payments to SSI recipients. 

 

 

 

 

1. Includes payments made to some non-SSI recipients 
who meet state eligibility criteria, but do not meet 
federal SSI eligibility guidelines.

Connecticut 
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State Assistance for Special Needs 

Administration 

State Department of Social Services. 

Special Needs Circumstances 

Recurring 
Emergency housing: One occurrence per calendar year; 
no more than 60 days per occurrence. 
Refuse collection: Standard community rate. 
Therapeutic diet: $36.20 a month. 
Meals on Wheels: $4.65 for one meal a day; $8.50 for 
two meals a day. 
Restaurant meals: $36.20 a month for an individual 
living in the community; $7.80 per day for an individual 
living in emergency housing. 

Nonrecurring 
Security deposit for heating service: Actual cost up to a 
limit of $200 for equipment only. 
Storage charges: Up to 3 months. 
Moving expenses: Market charge. 

Essential household furnishings: Lower of actual cost or 
department standard for particular item. 
Telephone installation: Standard residential line charge 
for service connections plus $23 for labor and $4 
maximum for phone jack. 
Essential clothing:

Medicaid 

 Department standard for particular 
item. 

Eligibility 

Criteria: State guidelines. 

Determined by:

Medically Needy Program 

 State. 

State provides a program for the aged, blind, and 
disabled medically needy. 

Unpaid Medical Expenses 

The Social Security Administration does not obtain this 
information. 

 

 
 

Individual Couple Individual Couple

842.00 1,285.00 168.00 274.00
674.00 1,011.00 b b

69.00 138.00 39.00 78.00

a.

b.

c.

Table 1.
Optional state supplementation payment levels, January 2011 (in dollars)

Living arrangement

Independent community living a

Licensed room and board facility
Medicaid facility c

Medicaid facility.  Includes recipients residing in a federal Code D living arrangement, general hospitals, long-term care facilities, 
intermediate care facilities, institutions for the mentally retarded and mental disease facilities for residents younger than age 21 or aged 65 or 
older, and tuberculosis facilities for persons aged 65 or older.

Committee sets state payments for recipients in boarding homes in accordance with individual cost data for the operations of the facility.

Recipients residing in a Medicaid facility receive a supplement that varies depending on the facility.

SOURCES: Social Security Administration, Office of Income Security Programs; state information.

Combined federal and state State supplementation

DEFINITIONS:
Independent community living.  Any type of living arrangement that is not a licensed room and board facility or a medical or penal 
institution.

The budget process is used to establish payment amounts.  This supplement consists of a housing allowance (maximum of $400 for 
living alone; $200 for living with others), basic needs items, minus countable income (see "Income exclusions").  The amount presented 
assumes eligibility for the highest rental allowance and the maximum budget amount.

Licensed room and board facility.  Community group home, training home, family care home, private boarding home, or other residential 
facility that is licensed by the Connecticut Department of Mental Retardation, Department of Children and Families, Department of Mental 
Health and Addiction Services, Department of Public Health Services, or other state agency and that at a minimum provides lodging and 
meals to various groups of elderly, blind, or disabled individuals.
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Total Aged Blind a Disabled

All recipients 10,348 2,769 56 7,523

8,433 2,461 24 5,948
1,892 308 32 1,552

23 0 0 23

a. Includes blind children.

SOURCE:  State information.

Medicaid facility

Table 2.
Number of persons receiving optional state supplementation, January 2011

Living arrangement

Independent community living
Licensed room and board facility

NOTE:  Includes some non-SSI recipients who meet state eligibility criteria, but do not meet federal SSI eligibility guidelines.
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State Supplementation 

Mandatory Minimum Supplementation 

Administration: 

Optional State Supplementation 

State Department of Health and Human 
Services. 

Administration: State Department of Health and Human 
Services. 

Effective date: July 1, 1974. 

Statutory basis for payment: Maine Revised Statutes, 
title 22, subtitle 3, part 1-A, chapter 855-A. 

Funding 
Administration: State funds. 
Assistance: State funds.  

Passalong method: Maintaining payment levels. 

Place of application: Local offices of the state 
Department of Health and Human Services. 

Scope of coverage: Optional state supplement 
provided to all aged, blind, and disabled SSI recipients, 
including children. In addition, a small number of 
persons not eligible for SSI are eligible for a state 
supplement.  

Resource limitations: Federal SSI regulations apply. 

Income exclusions: Federal SSI regulations apply for 
all living arrangements. In addition, for those living 
alone, with others, or in the household of another, the 
state disregards an additional $55 for individuals and 
$80 for couples. 

Recoveries, liens, and assignments: None. 

Financial responsibility of relatives: None. 

Interim assistance: State participates.  

Payment calculation method: A standard applies that 
is established by the state for the total SSI payment. The 
federal SSI payment and any countable income are 
deducted from the state standard. The remainder is the 
state supplementation. 

Payment levels: See Table 1. 

Number of recipients: See Table 2. 

Total expenditures:

State Assistance for Special Needs 

 The state reported expenditures of 
$5,273,805 for calendar year 2010 in state-administered 
payments to SSI recipients. 

Administration 

State Department of Health and Human Services. 

Special Needs Circumstances 

Licensed boarding home subsidies:

Medicaid 

 When costs of 
care exceed total of SSI and state supplementary 
payments, state will pay the difference up to established 
maximum rates. 

Eligibility 

Criteria: SSI program guidelines (Title XVI). 

Determined by: 

Medically Needy Program 

Social Security Administration. 

State provides a program for the aged, blind, and 
disabled medically needy. 

Unpaid Medical Expenses 

The state Department of Health and Human Services 
obtains this information.
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Individual Couple Individual Couple

Living alone or with others 684.00 1,026.00 10.00 15.00
Living in the household of another 457.34 686.00 8.00 12.00
Foster home 723.00 1,284.00 49.00 273.00
Flat-rate boarding home 891.00 1,601.00 217.00 590.00
Cost-reimbursement boarding home 908.00 1,647.00 234.00 636.00
Medicaid facility 40.00 80.00 10.00 20.00

Flat-rate boarding home.  Includes recipients residing in a boarding home that is licensed by and has a provider agreement with the state 
for reimbursement at a flat rate.

Cost-reimbursement boarding home.  Includes recipients residing in a boarding home that is licensed by and has a provider agreement 
with the state for reimbursement based on cost.

Medicaid facility.  Includes recipients residing in a federal Code D living arrangement.

DEFINITIONS:
Living alone or with others.  Includes the following types of recipients:
  •  Individual living in his or her own household with no other person except an ineligible spouse,
  •  Couples living in their own household,
  •  Persons in a medical facility where Medicaid does not pay more than 50 percent of the cost of their care,
  •  Person in an institution (excluding inmates of public institutions) on the basis of their eligibility under section 1611(e)(1)(E) of the Social
     Security Act for all or part of a month provided that Medicaid does not pay more than 50 percent of the cost of their care,
  •  Persons in a private-pay facility or private-pay portion of a licensed boarding home, or 
  •  Individuals or couples living with other persons but not considered to be living in the household of another.
Living in the household of another.  Includes eligible persons who: 
  •  Live in a household other than their own throughout a month with at least one other person who is not their child, their spouse, or an
     ineligible person whose income is deemed to them; and 
  •  Receive food and shelter from within that household. 
Foster home.  Includes recipients residing in an adult foster home.

Table 1.
Optional state supplementation payment levels, January 2011 (in dollars)

Living arrangement
Combined federal and state State supplementation

SOURCES:  Social Security Administration, Office of Income Security Programs; state information.

Total Aged Blind Disabled

All recipients 36,889 -- -- --

35,555 -- -- --
274 -- -- --
222 -- -- --

4 -- -- --
834 -- -- --

0 0 0 0

Living in the household of another

Cost-reimbursement boarding home

NOTE:  -- = not available.

SOURCE:  State information.

Medicaid facility

Table 2.
Number of persons receiving optional state supplementation, January 2011

Foster home
Flat-rate boarding home

Living arrangement

Living alone or with others
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State Supplementation 

Mandatory Minimum Supplementation 

Administration: 

Optional State Supplementation 

Social Security Administration. 

Administration: Social Security Administration. 

Effective date: January 1, 1974. 

Statutory basis for payment: General Laws of the 
Commonwealth of Massachusetts, chapter 118A, 
section 1. 

Funding 
Administration: State funds. 
Assistance: State funds.  

Passalong method: Maintaining payment levels. 

Place of application: Social Security Administration 
field offices. 

Scope of coverage: Optional state supplement 
provided to every aged, blind, and disabled SSI 
recipient, including children, and recipients in private 
medical facilities where the Medicaid program provides 
50 percent or less of the cost of care.  

Resource limitations: Federal SSI regulations apply. 

Income exclusions: Federal SSI regulations apply. 

Recoveries, liens, and assignments: None. 

Financial responsibility of relatives: None. 

Interim assistance: State participates.  

Payment calculation method: The state 
supplementation is added to the federal payment. 
Countable income is deducted first from the federal 
payment. Any income that remains to be counted after 
the federal payment has been reduced to zero is then 
deducted from the state supplementary payment. 

Payment levels: See Table 1. 

Number of recipients: See Table 2. 

Total expenditures:

Massachusetts 

 The Social Security Administration 
reported expenditures of $185,492,373 for calendar year 
2010 in federally administered payments to SSI 
recipients. 
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Individual Couple a Individual Couple a

A
Aged  802.82 1,212.72 128.82 201.72
Blind 823.74 1,647.48 149.74 636.48
Disabled 788.39 1,191.06 114.39 180.06

B
Aged 713.26 1,212.72 39.26 201.72
Blind 823.74 1,647.48 149.74 636.48
Disabled 704.40 1,191.06 30.40 180.06

C
Aged 553.70 889.80 104.36 215.80
Blind 823.74 1,647.49 374.40 973.48
Disabled 536.92 868.18 87.58 194.18

E
Aged and disabled 967.00 1,934.00 293.00 923.00
Blind 823.74 1,647.48 149.74 636.48

F 72.80 145.60 42.80 85.60

G 1,128.00 1,692.00 454.00 681.00

a.

Living arrangement

G: Assisted living facility.  Includes recipients residing in nonpublic subsidized assisted living facilities that have been registered with the 
state.

B: Shared living expenses.  Includes recipients who reside in a federal Code A or C living arrangement and do not meet the criteria for 
state living arrangement A or E.  It therefore includes recipients who reside in group care facilities (such as halfway houses), private medical 
facilities where Medicaid is paying 50 percent or less of the cost of care, foster homes, commercial boarding homes, or other facilities that do 
not meet the criteria for state living arrangement A or E.  It also includes:
  •  Recipients who reside in households where they do not pay at least two-thirds of the household expenses and one or more household
     members receive an income maintenance payment; and 
  •  Transients, the homeless, and residents of public emergency shelters.
C: Living in the household of another.  Includes recipients residing in a federal Code B living arrangement.

E: Licensed rest home.  Includes recipients residing in a licensed rest home that has a provider agreement with the state.

F: Medicaid facility.  Includes recipients residing in a federal Code D living arrangement.

Living independently

Shared living expenses

SOURCE:  Social Security Administration, Office of Income Security Programs.

DEFINITIONS:
A: Living independently.  Includes recipients who live: 
  •  Alone; 
  •  Only with an eligible spouse; 
  •  With an eligible spouse and with ineligible children who do not receive income maintenance payments; or 
  •  With an ineligible spouse or ineligible children, none of whom receive income maintenance payments.  Also includes recipients residing
      in a federal Code C living arrangement who do not live with any persons receiving income maintenance payments.  Persons not meeting 
      these criteria may be included if they are residing in a federal Code A or C living arrangement and pay at least two-thirds of the 
      household expenses.  Recipients living in public congregate housing developments are also included. 

Living in the household of another

NOTE:  Blind individuals aged 65 or older are entitled to the highest payment category for which they qualify.

The amounts given apply when both members of a couple belong to the same eligibility category.  When members belong to different 
eligibility categories, the two respective individual benefits are added to obtain the couple's benefit.

Medicaid facility

Assisted living facility

State 
code

Combined federal and state State supplementation

Licensed rest home

Table 1.
Optional state supplementation payment levels, January 2011 (in dollars)
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State Assistance for Special Needs 

Administration 

State Department of Transitional Assistance and 
Commission for the Blind. 

Special Needs Circumstances 

Vendor payments in lieu of cash payments. 

Disaster benefits: Replacement of specific items of 
furniture, household equipment, supplies, food, and 
clothing for SSI recipients when these items were lost 
because of a natural disaster or fire. (Amounts exempted 
in determining SSI eligibility.) 

Burial expenses: The department may pay up to $1,000 
to a funeral establishment for burial expenses if the SSI 
recipient had insufficient resources to cover the cost. 
The Commonwealth can be reimbursed from whatever 
resources the recipient may have in their estate. 

Rest home subsidies: When cost exceeds the total 
available income, excluding personal needs allowance, 
the state will pay difference up to established maximum 
rates. 

Moving expenses:

• Present living quarters have been certified as 
substandard, 

 The cost of moving within the state 
for SSI recipients may be paid once in a 12-month 
period if: 

• Moving to new quarters is necessary because of 
health problems or lack of safety in old 
neighborhood, 

• Recipient is moving into federal or state 
subsidized housing, or  

• Recipient is forced to move for other reasons. 
Total payment not to exceed $150. 

Homemaker and housekeeper services:

Medicaid 

 The 
Department of Elder Affairs performs homemaker and 
housekeeping services for recipients aged 60 or older. 
The Massachusetts Rehabilitation Commission provides 
these services for recipients under age 60. 

Eligibility 

Criteria: SSI program guidelines (Title XVI). 

Determined by: 

Medically Needy Program 

Social Security Administration. 

State provides a program for the aged, blind, and 
disabled medically needy. 

Unpaid Medical Expenses 

The Social Security Administration obtains this 
information. 

 

 

Adults Children

All recipients 193,725 47,107 3,640 108,978 34,000

A 83,525 27,314 1,166 46,523 8,522
B 89,367 13,202 1,741 51,845 22,579

C 15,530 3,740 622 8,684 2,484
E 1,428 796 10 619 3

F + Z 2,718 1,078 87 1,141 412
G 1,157 977 14 166 0

Table 2.
Number of persons receiving optional state supplementation, January 2011

Living independently
Shared living expenses

Living arrangement
DisabledState 

code Total Aged Blind

Living in the household of
   another
Licensed rest home

SOURCE:  State information.

Medicaid facility
Assisted living facility
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State Supplementation 

Mandatory Minimum Supplementation 

Administration: 

Optional State Supplementation 

State Department of Health and Human 
Services, Division of Family Assistance. 

Administration: Local offices of the state Department 
of Health and Human Services, Division of Family 
Assistance. 

Effective date: January 1, 1974. 

Statutory basis for payment: New Hampshire Revised 
Statutes, as amended, section 167:7, I, II, III, IV. 

Funding 
Administration: State funds. 
Aged and disabled assistance: 50 percent state funds, 
50 percent county funds. 
Blind assistance: 100 percent state funds.  

Passalong method: Maintaining payment levels.  

Place of application: Local offices of the Division of 
Family Assistance. 

Scope of coverage: Optional state supplement 
provided to SSI recipients, including blind children 
under the age of 18 and disabled adult children, residing 
in the specified living arrangements. Persons living in 
the household of another receive the same state 
supplement as those living independently. 

Resource limitations: No monetary or acreage 
limitation on property occupied as a home. Personal 
property limited to $1,500 net cash value for an 
individual or a couple excluding clothing, household 
furnishings, tools, car, life insurance, and farm 
equipment or livestock used for food needs. Equity value 
of each individual’s life insurance policies is counted as 
a resource when the total combined equity value of the 
policies exceeds $1,500; it is excluded as a resource if 
the total combined equity value of the policies is less 
than $1,500 or the state has been named the beneficiary 
to the policies. 

Income exclusions 

  

Standard exclusions for any income, including SSI (in 
dollars; . . . = not applicable.) 

Living arrangement Individual 

  Living independently 

Couple 

13.00  20.00  

  Living with an essential person 25.00  25.00  

  Residential care facility for 
  adults 13.00  . . .  

  Enhanced family care facility 13.00  . . .  

  Community residence 13.00  . . .  
     

• Aged and disabled—Same as federal. 
Earned income exclusions 

• Blind—$85 of gross earnings plus one-half of 
amount over $85. 

Other exclusions:

If income is received in exchange for room and 
board, the Food Stamp coupon allotment for each 
boarder is deducted in addition to the amounts given 
above. 

 If recipient receives income from 
other persons in exchange for providing only room for 
such persons, $50 per person is deducted from such 
income. Actual expenses if greater may be allowed, 
subject to verification. 

Recoveries, liens, and assignments 
Aged, blind, and disabled: All aid is by law a lien on the 
estate of the recipient or spouse. Lien is not enforced as 
long as the individual or spouse is still living and for as 
long as the property is lawfully occupied by the recipient 
and/or surviving spouse unless it is sold or refinanced 
while the lien is in place. State may waive recovery. 

Financial responsibility of relatives: Spouse for 
spouse; parent or stepparent for minor child. 

Interim assistance: State participates. 

Payment calculation method

 

: A standard applies that 
is established by the state for the total SSI payment. The 
federal SSI payment and any countable income are 
deducted from the state standard. The remainder is the 
state supplementation. 

New Hampshire 
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Payment levels: See Table 1. 

Number of recipients: See Table 2. 

Total expenditures:

State Assistance for Special Needs 

 Not available. 

State does not provide assistance for special needs. 

Medicaid 

Eligibility 

Criteria: State guidelines. 

Determined by: 

Medically Needy Program 

State. 

State provides a program for the aged, blind, and 
disabled medically needy. 

Unpaid Medical Expenses 

The Social Security Administration does not obtain this 
information.

Individual Couple Individual Couple

688.00 1,012.00 27.00 21.00

. . . 1,362.00 .  .  . 38.00

868.00 b 207.00 b

868.00 b 207.00 b

Nonsubsidized 810.00 . . . 149.00 . . .
Subsidized 750.00 . . . 89.00 . . .

65.00 . . . 35.00 . . .

a.

b.

Residential care facility for adults

Enhanced family care facility

Table 1.
Optional state supplementation payment levels, January 2011 (in dollars)

Living arrangement
Combined federal and state State supplementation

NOTE:  . . . = not applicable.

Applies only to SSI recipients converted from former state assistance programs.

The state supplementation rate for individuals applies to each member of a couple.

Community residence

Medicaid facility

Living independently or in the household of another

Living with an essential person a

SOURCES:  Social Security Administration, Office of Income Security Programs; state information.

Community residence.  A facility that provides housing on a 24-hour basis to mentally ill or developmentally impaired persons.  Care 
provided is a combination of supervised social, personal, and mental health services.  The appropriate community residence standard of 
need is based on whether the resident received any type of subsidy from the Division of Mental Health and Developmental Services.
Medicaid facility.  Includes recipients residing in a federal Code D living arrangement.

DEFINITIONS:
Living independently or in the household of another.  Includes all adult recipients residing in a federal Code A or B living arrangement 
who are not included in any other state living arrangement.  Also includes blind children residing in a federal Code A, B, or C living 
arrangement.
Living with an essential person.  Includes recipients living in a private household with a person who provides the essential care and 
personal services that enable them to remain in their household.

Residential care facility for adults.  Facilities that provide housing for 1 to 25 elderly or physically disabled adults who cannot live alone but 
do not require nursing home care.

Enhanced family care facility.  Community residences that are owned and operated by a person or family living in the residence.  One or 
more individuals receive services in a certified family environment, and members of the host family provide the primary daily support.
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Total Aged Blind a Disabled

All recipients 10,239 1,403 236 8,600

9,121 1,228 192 7,701
10 3 0 7
84 41 0 43

705 103 31 571

45 4 2 39
264 17 11 236

10 7 0 3

a.

Table 2.
Number of persons receiving optional state supplementation, January 2011

Living arrangement

Living independently or in the household of another
Living with an essential person
Residential care facility for adults
Enhanced family care facility
Community residence

Nonsubsidized

Only blind children are eligible for optional supplementation; they are included in counts for the blind.

Subsidized

Medicaid facility

NOTE:  Includes certain grandfathered, non-SSI recipients who meet state eligibility criteria.

SOURCE:  State information.
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The state did not respond to our request for 2011 data. 
The text reflects the last update provided by the state. 
Total expenditures and tables 1 and 2 reflect 2011 
federal reporting and 2010 state data. 

State Supplementation 

Mandatory Minimum Supplementation 

No recipients. 

Optional State Supplementation 

Administration: Social Security Administration; State 
Department of Human Services. 

Effective date: January 1, 1974. 

Statutory basis for payment: General Laws of Rhode 
Island, 1956, as amended, title 40, chapter 6, section 27. 

Funding 
Administration: State funds. 
Assistance: State funds. 

Passalong method: Maintaining payment levels. 

Place of application: Social Security Administration 
field offices. 

Scope of coverage: Optional state supplement 
provided to all SSI recipients, including children, 
residing in the specified living arrangements. 

Resource limitations: Federal SSI regulations apply. 

Income exclusions: Federal SSI regulations apply. 

Recoveries, liens, and assignments: None. 

Financial responsibility of relatives: None. 

Interim assistance: State participates. 

Payment calculation method: Not provided by state. 

Payment levels: See Table 1. 

Number of recipients: See Table 2. 

Total expenditures:

 

 The state reported expenditures of 
$18,115,000 for calendar year 2010 in state-
administered payments to SSI recipients. 

 
 

 

Individual Couple Individual Couple

A 713.92 1,090.38 39.92 79.38
B 501.26 771.30 51.92 97.30
D 1,212.00 .  .  . 538.00 .  .  .
E 50.00 100.00 20.00 40.00

B: Living in the household of another.  Includes recipients residing in a federal Code B living arrangement. 

D: Adult residential care or assisted living facility.  Includes adult recipients who reside in a federal Code A living arrangement and live in 
a licensed shelter care facility.

E: Medicaid facility.  Includes recipients residing in a federal Code D living arrangement.

Medicaid facility

NOTE:  . . . = not applicable.

SOURCE:  Social Security Administration, Office of Income Security Programs.

DEFINITIONS:
A: Living alone.  Includes recipients residing in a federal Code A or C living arrangement.  Includes persons in medical facilities who are 
residing in a federal Code A living arrangement on the basis of their eligibility under section 1611(e)(1)(E) of the Social Security Act.

Living alone 
Living in the household of another
Adult residential care or assisted living facility

Table 1.
Optional state supplementation payment levels, January 2011 (in dollars)

Living arrangement
State 
code

Combined federal and state State supplementation

Rhode Island 



Rhode Island 

98  ♦  State Assistance Programs for SSI Recipients, January 2011 

 
 
 
State Assistance for Special Needs 

Administration 

State Department of Human Services. 

Special Needs Circumstances 

Moving expenses: Within cost guidelines, moving 
costs are covered for SSI recipients when the move is 
determined to be socially desirable and moving services 
cannot be provided by city, town, or other community 
resources. 

Catastrophic conditions: In the event of a catastrophe 
by fire, flood, lightning, or severe wind, the state will 
provide shelter, clothing, food, and essential household 
equipment and furnishings. 

Burial expenses: The cost of burial expenses can be 
provided for any person who dies leaving insufficient 
resources to meet this expense. 

Homemaker services: 

Medicaid 

Services provided under 
specified criteria to prevent institutionalization of a 
recipient who is unable to perform homemaker duties 
because of an acute or chronic illness. 

Eligibility 

Criteria: SSI program guidelines (Title XVI). 

Determined by: 

Medically Needy Program 

Social Security Administration. 

State provides a program for the aged, blind, and 
disabled medically needy. 

Unpaid Medical Expenses 

The Social Security Administration obtains this 
information.

Adults Children

All recipients 31,086 3,503 150 21,097 6,336

A 29,104 2,992 139 19,897 6,076

B 1,075 175 9 692 199

D 563 291 2 269 1
E 344 45 0 239 60

a. State changed administration of optional program from federal to state in 2011. Data not available from the state for 2011. Data shown 
are from 2010.

SOURCE:  Social Security Administration, Supplemental Security Record, 100 percent data.

Medicaid facility

Living alone
Living in the household
   of another
Adult residential care or
   assisted living facility

Table 2.
Number of persons receiving optional state supplementation, January 2011 a

Aged Blind
Disabled

Living arrangement
State 
code Total
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State Supplementation 

Mandatory Minimum Supplementation 
No recipients. 

Optional State Supplementation 
Administration: Social Security Administration. 

Effective date: January 1, 1974. 

Statutory basis for payment: Vermont Statutes 
Annotated, title 33, chapter 13, Aid to Aged, Blind, and 
Disabled. 

Funding 
Administration: State funds. 
Assistance: State funds. 

Passalong method: Maintaining payment levels. 

Place of application: Social Security Administration 
field offices. 

Scope of coverage: Optional state supplement 
provided to all SSI-eligible aged, blind, and disabled 
individuals, including children.  

Resource limitations: Federal SSI regulations apply. 

Income exclusions: Federal SSI regulations apply. 

Recoveries, liens, and assignments: None. 

Financial responsibility of relatives: None. 

Interim assistance: State participates.  

Payment calculation method: The state 
supplementation is added to the federal payment. 
Countable income is deducted first from the federal 
payment. Any income that remains to be counted after 
the federal payment has been reduced to zero is then 
deducted from the state supplementary payment. 

Payment levels: See Table 1. 

Number of recipients: See Table 2. 

Total expenditures:

 

 The Social Security Administration 
reported expenditures of $9,961,000 for calendar year 
2010 in federally administered payments to SSI 
recipients. 

 
 

Individual Couple Individual Couple

Living independently A and B 726.04 1,109.88 52.04 98.88
Assistive community care, Level III C 722.38 1,107.77 48.38 96.77
Living in the household of another E 488.64 722.31 39.30 48.31
Residential care home, Level IV G 897.94 1,573.06 223.94 562.06
Custodial care family home H 772.69 1,343.82 98.69 332.82
Medicaid facility I 47.66 95.33 17.66 35.33

SOURCE:  Social Security Administration, Office of Income Security Programs.

H: Custodial care family home.  Includes recipients who reside in a federal Code A living arrangement, live in another's home, pay room 
and board, and receive one or more custodial services.  Custodial care includes providing basic room and board, plus such services as help 
with feeding, dressing, bathing, moving under normal circumstances, and occasional tray service and supervision for the recipients' 
protection.  To qualify as a home under this arrangement, these services must be provided by a resident of the home and cannot be provided 
to more than two persons in the home.  Custodial care or supervision provided by a spouse is not included under this arrangement.
I: Medicaid facility.  Includes recipients residing in a federal Code D living arrangement.

DEFINITIONS:
A and B: Living independently.  Includes eligible recipients who are not in any other state living arrangement.  Includes children who are 
living with parents, recipients residing in private Title XIX facilities where Medicaid is not paying more than 50 percent of the cost of care, and 
recipients residing in publicly operated emergency shelters throughout a month.
C: Assistive community care, Level III.  Includes any individual who resides in a Level III residential care home that is certified by the 
Department of Aging and Independent Living to provide assistive community care services.

E: Living in the household of another.  Includes recipients residing in a federal Code B living arrangement who are not otherwise 
exempted from state supplementation.

G: Residential care home, Level IV.  Includes recipients living in Level IV community homes identified by the state.

Table 1.
Optional state supplementation payment levels, January 2011 (in dollars)

Living arrangement
State 
code

Combined federal and state State supplementation

Vermont 
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State Assistance for Special Needs 

Administration 

Agency of Human Services, Department for Children 
and Families, Economic Services Division. 

Special Needs Circumstances 

Emergency assistance is provided, under certain 
conditions, for court-ordered evictions, natural disasters 
(e.g., fire, flood, or hurricane), emergency medical care, 
funeral costs, and emergency fuel needs. 

Medicaid 

Eligibility 

Criteria: SSI program guidelines (Title XVI). 

Determined by: 

Medically Needy Program 

Social Security Administration. 

State provides a program for the aged, blind, and 
disabled medically needy. 

Unpaid Medical Expenses 

The Social Security Administration does not obtain this 
information.

Adults Children

All recipients 15,152 1,024 53 11,105 2,970

A and B 13,534 936 43 9,845 2,710
C 265 54 1 206 4
E 283 15 2 202 64
G 117 4 0 108 5
H 882 9 7 693 173
I 71 6 0 51 14

Table 2.
Number of persons receiving optional state supplementation, January 2011

Living independently

State 
code Total Aged Blind

Disabled
Living arrangement

SOURCE:  Social Security Administration, Supplemental Security Record, 100 percent data.

Medicaid facility
Custodial care family home
Residential care home, Level IV

Assistive community care, Level III
Living in the household of another
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